Inspiration Just Hit. What Now?

I can’t tell you how many times people have come up to me after one of my talks and said, “D.J., I was in the shower and this idea just popped into my head.”  Replace the shower with any other random location and you get the idea.  My response is always something to the effect of, “that’s great, so what did you do next?”  More often than not, they did nothing.  Sometimes due to lack of desire or time, but mostly because they had no idea what to do next.

Now I’m not a business expert, but I can tell you what worked for me.  When I had the idea for my site, the first thing I did was think about what the domain name should be. Believe it or not, it took a few days to come up with the right one, but as soon as I did, I registered it.  Just like that, I was committed.  It validated the idea in my mind and it made it seem a bit more real.

No matter what your idea is, whether it be a new website, a product, a business, a charity, or whatever pops into your mind, do one thing.  Just one.  They say the first step is the hardest, but taking it will lead to the next, and the next, and the next.  Before you know it, your idea is coming to life.  All because you took that first step.

yours in inspiration, dj

Leave a comment