When Inspired, Failure is Not an Option!

Part of my appeal, from what I’ve been told, is that I’m a straight-shooter.  What I’ve learned over the years is that for the most part, people appreciate having messages delivered to them in a direct manner.  So when fans of my site tell me that they are scared to move forward with their idea because they might fail, I’m as blunt and as direct as possible when I tell them that failure is not an option.  There are usually some off-color words thrown in, but hey, that’s part of my charm.

As a practitioner of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, my instructor tells us that there are two results from sparring (when you and a partner fight, testing your techniques).  Either we win or we learn.  If we win, great.  If we don’t win, we learn why.  Perhaps we should keep our arms closer to our bodies, we used too much muscle and not enough technique and we got tired, or we need to work on our sweeps a bit more.  Whatever the reason, we didn’t lose.  We didn’t fail.  We learned about what we did wrong and what needs to be adjusted in order for us to be successful next time around.

This concept of “winning or learning” can be applied off the mats as well.  When you are working on your idea, and something doesn’t work, you didn’t fail.  You learned something.  Maybe your current vendor is too expensive?  Maybe your marketing message isn’t hitting the mark?  Whatever the reason or reasons might be, don’t look at them as failing.  Look at them as learning.  Find a new vendor.  Re-think your marketing.

The only way you’re going to fail, is it you never try.  Now get off your ass, and go learn something!

yours in inspiration, dj

Leave a comment