What is Inspiration?

One of the questions I’m asked most often is “what is inspiration?”  The first time I was asked was in Thailand in 1999.  I was on vacation, and truth be told, I didn’t know how to answer it.  I couldn’t tell you what I said, but I guarantee it wasn’t what I think it is today. What I’ve learned over the years, is that inspiration isn’t one thing, it isn’t two things. Inspiration comes in many forms, be it spiritual, physical or anything in between.  One never knows when inspiration might strike, and often, it’s unexpected both in form and delivery.

The answer, simply, is that inspiration is anything that moves you to action.  Whether that action is now being able to move forward on a current project, or to start an entirely new one, that little (or large) spark is all you need.  Don’t fight it.

“But, D.J., how do I recognize this inspiration?”  Good question.  Stay tuned my next post for the answer.  In the meantime, please remember to visit my site for some Blunt Inspiration.

yours in inspiration, dj

 

Leave a comment